Raziel Moore | Monocle

1/11/11 Interstitial – Free Will

In challenge, microstory on 01/11/2011 at 1:56 pm

A short for 5 minute fiction, in which the prompt require a reference to an encounter with a demon. Didn’t make the finalists, but here for posterity. -M

“Go on, you know you want to.”

It wasn’t just the voice right behind my ear that made me almost jump out of my skin, it was the tone.

“WHAT? Who said that?” I almost shouted, but kept my voice down. I _did_ jump.

“Me. You. Does it make a difference? I’m the little demon on your shoulder. We’re not metaphorical you know.”

“This is creeping me out.”

“It usually does, but really, that doesn’t matter, does it? I know what you want. I know you can get it. All you have to do is decide to. I’m here to help you make that decision.”

I looked at her, sleeping peacefully. Oblivious.

“It’s wrong.”

“Of course it’s ‘wrong’ – if you’re going to shackle yourself to external moralities. But you don’t need to do that.”

“Why not?”

“Free Will, my man. Free Will.”

“…Where’s the angel supposed to be on my other shoulder talking sense?”

It’s chuckle was shiver-inducing.

“What is this, some kind of New Testament parable? Angels don’t exist. Or rather, you get the ‘angel’ that reflects you. That’s me.”

I stood there like a fool, unable to move. No, not unable. Not really.

“Come on. You don’t have much time, you know.”

Free Will. Was I that easy to convince?

Yes.

Leave a Reply

